Update… One Week In

So… I’m about one week in.  I’ve only had one day that was a complete fail.  I don’t really know why, but I just started the day wrong.  I left the house without even thinking about breakfast, which is weird for me, but it went downhill from there.  The upside is that I have been running like a maniac, and drinking a TON of water, so even though I feel full of water (and fat) all the time, I’m hoping that will come back in pounds lost.  I’ve already lost a few pounds of just the easy beginner’s luck.  I joined two Deitbets.  I’m nervous about that- they both have a lot of money to win if I meet my goal of 4% in the one month period. 

So the exercise has really started to fall into place.  The eating needs to be better managed.  I need to make better choices around my family.  When we’re out- it’s hard for me to order something healthy while everyone else is eating comfort food.  But a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do, right?

So far, I’d say the best things to keep me on track are:

1. Nike Fuel Band– AMAZING device that keeps track of your fuel (basically a score), calories burned, steps and distance.  You can also compete with other friends who have the Fuel Band.  I set my goal, and I have already increased it once.  Now I’m hellbent on meeting my goal everyday (especially since I’m on a seven day streak!)  I may or may not have been so devoted that I offered to walk 10 blocks to the gym bar with friends last night instead of driving.  Wahoo!  And yes, please don’t ask why I went out to a bar- a girl’s gotta enjoy herself.  And I had Diet Coke.  With a litte Captain.

2.  A home gym.  GP has these grand plans of looking like this by summer every year:

Image

He’s a marketer’s dream.  Yes, I’m home now, I have time to work out, blah, blah, blah.  It works for a couple of weeks and he loses his 20 lbs and he’s done (yes, I hate that he can give up soda or look at a treadmill and lose 20 lbs).  This year, he decided to convert 1/2 our basement into a home gym.  We took an old tv and set it up and put carpet on our concrete floors.  It looks nice for a couple hours worth of manual labor.  Finished product:Image

Yes, I know it DOES need a treadmill.  PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE convince GP to buy me one!  Especially on nights like tonight when it’s 20 degrees outside and he’s watching football so I’m stuck at home with the kids!  I could do Tae Bo for the 1,000th time, but I’d rather run and watch mindless crappy tv! 

Anyway- the first week is going well.  I wish it would have gone better, but progress takes time. 

Leave a Reply

